7 Deadly Birthdays, Shows

SIN: GLUTTONY, AGE: 21


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Gluttony Blog “7 Deadly Birthdays” / #7Birthdays

I LOVE FOOD with a passion. This is no secret. I grew up with two of the best chefs I Gluttony-Robert Kingslyknow in my house (my daddy and my little brother) who were enthusiastic enough about food that I never really learned to cook for myself. Ours was a communal style household, everyone had things they were good at and we would to do these things on a regular basis for the benefit of the whole family. Mine was not cooking. Accidents were had, and pretty soon, I was no longer allowed to use sharp objects or much of any kind of flame.

There are few things in life I love more than the ritual of dining. I love menu’s, I love ordering food, I love hearing it described and dear God in Heaven; I.LOVE.EATING. I cannot stress this enough. It may be my one true passion in this world aside from theatre, our puppy and my husband Brad, who also happens to be a professional chef. We fell in love long gluttonyecardbefore I realized he was insanely talented in the kitchen but as soon as I saw what he could do with fresh ingredients and the proper knives; I put a mother fucking ring on it. Once, while husband and I were incredibly broke, I seriously considered competition eating. To say that I eat quickly is an understatement. I don’t know how I do it, but I devour everything. It literally appears as if I inhale my food, it just disappears. People say, slow down and taste it. Oh, I do, I just love what I taste so I fucking shove it in my mouth. And it’s not just that I eat fast it’s that I eat EVERYTHING. I have some restrictions sure, but if it’s in front of me I will eat it, if it’s in my cupboard…its gone. I am a bottomless pit and it is a blessing as much as it is a curse.

The same can be said of Lacy, only with alcohol, specifically, Mexican beer. This statement may sound terrible but I promise you it is not at all. It’s actually quite endearing of her character. You would not think that someone so small (she’s 5’1”) and that cute (as a goddamn button) could handle that much and still keep going. Given the chance and the right supply, she will stay up until everything is gone, “otherwise it’s wasting it! It’s funny ’cause we’re wasted!” Put us together in a restaurant and you will see something mighty gluttony-demotivational-poster-1213109496special. Two of the cutest girls you ever saw, one who can drink you under the table, and one who can eat the entire menu. One will complain that there aren’t enough desserts featured and the other will drag you to four more bars and keep you out until 4am. The only other person on this planet who can match us meal for meal and drink for drink is Tony. Lacy’s might-as-well-be-husband and our fellow Copious Love founder. He is the “best” influence to our gluttonous debauchery and the biggest celebrator of it in general. For Lacy’s 21st birthday Tony planned a trip to Vegas. Needless to say, things got out of control in the greatest way possible and incredible hilarity ensued. That fateful trip is the reason we put the Gluttony scene at age 21. Maddie struggles with how to handle this new found privilege and things don’t go as planned. Hilarity ensues.

It’s obvious why the Gluttony scene in 7 Deadly Birthdays is one of the funniest in the whole show. We simply have a lot of personal experience in the subject matter. But sometimes our gluttony pays off in really great ways, for example; we throw the best parties ever. Trust me, the food is always amazing, the drinks are always strong and the music will keep you on the dance floor all night long. So just know that when you come to see this show, you will be in for a night you will not soon forget. Mark your calendars!

Great…Now I’m hungry.

By Chelsea Madsen

Leave a Reply

